Welcome back, me.

Don’t feel like reading? Listen to the audio version here:

 

It’s now been almost three years since I created this blog. It never really went anywhere; I was gonna use it as an outlet about my mental illness, but, well, my life got so busy and overwhelming that I simply could not keep it up. However, I’ve felt the need for a creative outlet for a while now, so I’m giving this blog another shot!

I will mainly be writing about mental illness – specifically bipolar. I’ll probably touch on other subjects close to my heart as well, but we’ll see.

I want to help fight stigma against mental illness; to encourage people to educate themselves on the subject; to use this blog as a creative outlet; to inspire others to be open about their disorders, and seek the help they need; and last, but not least, I want to share my experiences with you all, and make people feel less alone.

Because you are not alone.

This afternoon, I watched a documentary on YouTube, titled The Not So Secret Life of the Manic Depressive: Ten Years On. The OG documentary was made in 2006, titled The Secret Life of the Manic Depressive, by Stephen Fry, who indeed suffers from bipolar. In 2017, ABC2 (as far as I’ve gathered) did a sort of follow-up, and it was good for me to watch. To remind me that even with bipolar, I can still live a good life.
I’ve been diagnosed early in life, which, in a lot of ways, makes it that much harder. I was 23, and it was both a relief, but also heartbreaking. I think about it a lot, and it worries me. I feel so limited.
But in my 26 years, I’ve done so much, traveled so far to so many places, met so many people, learned so much, had incredible, once-in-a-lifetime experiences. I’ve experienced true love three times in my life. I have had – and still have – deep, meaningful relationships. Even in the darkest of times, I have kept on fighting, despite the overwhelming desire to give up.
It’s important for everyone to understand that I cannot live the kind of life most people – and our society – expects me to. And expectations are high, especially since I’m still so young. But maybe … maybe my life is about something completely different. Maybe it’s about staying strong, for myself and for others. I care, and I love. There are so many things I can offer this world and the people in it. And that’s exactly what I’m gonna do.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you’ll stick around for future posts.

Leave a comment