I moved into my own place!

Don’t feel like reading? Listen to the audio version here:

 

home sweet home

For the first time in my life since moving out of my parents’ house, I finally have my very own apartment. Regular housing – not student housing, no expiration date, no flatmates (until my boyfriend moves in <3)… and it’s within my (tight) budget.

And it’s pretty big. 61,9m2, two rooms – a bedroom and a living room, long entryway, kitchen (that desperately needs renovation), and a classic, tiny Copenhagen bathroom. The shared courtyard is huge, and there are four recycling stations. ❤

After 3-4 years, I finally have a couch again. A real couch. Not a sofa bed, just a beautiful, adult corner-couch. Here it is. Isn’t it wonderful? It was half price when I got it, so 4999DKK. It brings me (and everyone else who’s sat in it so far) such joy and relaxation. One of the best purchases in my life.

I have space around me. My stuff isn’t all cramped into a small space. There’s so much more air. Big windows, so much light. High ceilings, classic old Copenhagen style. It’s close to the center, just a short bike ride away, and great access to public transportation.

I have yet to realize that this place is now mine. Of course it’s just rental, but it’s still mine. 

I’m still waiting for a new kitchen. It’s so run down and gross and ugh. It’s made cooking and eating regularly very difficult for me. Luckily, my boyfriend is here every second evening (obviously more since my grandpa died last Sunday), and I’ve had friends over, as well. They either cook for me, or we cook together, or we have take-out. Yesterday, I made lunch with a dear friend of mine at her place. She knows I’ve been having difficulties eating properly, and she knows that it helps me when I’m around others. We ended up spending 8 hours together! I love her so much.

There have been setbacks and issues to be solved, as there always is when moving into a new place. But it’s been so overwhelming. I was down with a cold when I had to start packing, and still a bit sick when we started moving my stuff out. The moving itself exhausted me. Then the mother of my cousins died… that was upsetting.

We also had to paint the bedroom, and it took my boyfriend, my sister, her husband, and me 6 hours to paint it. Old apartment means lots of nooks and crannies etc. And the previous tenants had been smokers, so… yeah. It was a bitch to paint. And then, the next morning, my dad called me and told me that my granddad had died in his sleep.

Two deaths within one week. And then two funerals within one week. Wednesday was the funeral of my cousins’ mom, and next Wednesday we’ll be going to the same church for my granddad’s funeral. They lived in the same city. So surreal…

So a lot has been going on. I haven’t really had time to process the fact that I’m in my own place now. So many other events have taken over. When everything quiets down, and when I have lamps, and I get a new kitchen, maybe it will finally hit me. Maybe then I will be able to truly enjoy it and be grateful. But for now, I’m just sad most of the time. Mind is occupied.

I’m so excited for my boyfriend to move in with me. There will be challenges along the way, of course, but I have no doubt in my mind that we will face them head-on and work it out.

I’m tired. I cry almost every day. Eating is difficult. But I’m gonna get through it, especially with the help of my wonderful friends, family, and boyfriend. I’m a very lucky girl.

I think that’s all for now. Hope you enjoyed this little update.

Have a great week!

 

 

Leave a comment