Fall

Don’t feel like reading? Listen to the audio version here:

timothy-eberly-yuiJO6bvHi4-unsplash

Fall and winter have traditionally been very dark seasons in my life, as it is for many. I obviously don’t mean that literally, because well, it is literally darker outside. I’m talking about that good ol’ friend we call depression.

This tradition, however, has been broken.

Despite a terrible five days of migraine (because of my period), I’m doing really well. I’ve made some changes in my diet, started going to the gym twice a week, still going to physiotherapy… I’ve cut down on my sugar intake (which was massive just a month and a half ago. Like, really bad), and I’m taking vitamin D every day with my other pills.

All of the above has probably contributed to the fact that I didn’t have a migraine for almost a full month! I don’t remember the last time that happened. There’s no saying exactly what had caused this wonderful change, and I have not been equally blessed these past few weeks. Nonetheless, that was a marvelous 3-4 weeks.

I got some great news the other day. One of my friends, who’s been suffering from multiple mental disorders for many many years and have constantly been dropped through the cracks of the system, is finally going to get the treatment she deserves. She’s going to the same place where I did my two-year treatment program, and I sooo hope her experience there will be as great as mine was. I’m so happy for her.

I’ve been very, very emotionel lately. It doesn’t take much to make me cry. I haven’t made it better by watching movies at the cinema that turned out to be really sad. The 2-year anniversary of the death of someone very close to me is drawing near, and it’s pulling at my heartstrings. On top of all the deaths in my family that’s happened this year… Death is really on my mind. Thinking about death and crying so much is tiring. But it’s not pulling me down further than that. I am okay. I’m allowing myself to cry because I clearly need to, and I feel better afterwards. This, too, shall pass.

Have a great week!

Leave a comment