My little slice of heaven

Don’t feel like reading? Listen to the audio version here:

kolding

 

So I’ve read through my four latest blog posts, and I gotta admit, they’re a bit all over the place. But I guess that was just a reflection of how I was doing during that time.

I’m currently house- and dog-sitting in Kolding, a city in Jutland, the mainland of Denmark. The family is on holiday in Italy, and I’m their go-to sitter. I don’t know if I’ve talked about this family before – I don’t think so – but it’s a nice story, so here we go (I’ll try to keep it short):

In March, 2009, I got my first real boyfriend. His name was Philip, and he lived in Kolding, so it was long-distance. I think I met his family a week or two after we became an item, and we all clicked immediately. It’s important to note that I was having a really hard time at home back then. I’d travel all around the country on the weekends, visiting friends, having a wonderful time while escaping the realities of home. Philip’s family became a second family to me, and their home my refuge. I even got my first real job, just so I could pay for the train tickets to get there!

Soon after I met them, they got a dog – a small Formula 1 labrador named Zika. I was with them when they picked her up at a parking lot somewhere, from owners who could no longer take care of her or something. Now, I’ve always been scared of dogs, ever since I was a little kid. Terrified, even of puppies. Zika was around 1 year old when we got her, as far as I remember. And I had to face my fears. Turned out Zika was to become one of my favorite beings on this entire planet. She is sweet, caring, loving, cuddly… everything you’d want in a dog. As I recall, she was quite patient with me, even though she was still just a puppy. Zika got me over my fear of dogs. She’s THAT good. She’s an older lady now, and just as lovely as ever. Less energy, but can still run around and play with her friend Eidis, a beautiful white, fluffy dog, who’s only 1½ years old. So she’s still pretty fresh!!

Snapchat-1087791054

Zika and me. Look at her cute little gray hairs, hehe. 

Anyway. Philip and I broke up after about 1 year (first love, first massive heartbreak), but I desperately did not want to lose his family. I wrote them a letter, saying that, as they probably knew by then, Philip and I were no longer together, but I hoped I could still visit them from time to time, because they meant so much to me. Hanne, Philip’s mom, sent me a letter back, saying that they had kind of seen it coming, and they were very sad. And that of course I would always be welcome.

Ten years later, and I still visit them 2-3 times a year. It’s become a tradition that I house- and dog-sit every summer when they go on holiday. So, here I am, sitting at their dining room table, with a dog lying on the floor behind me, and two guinea pigs ruffling about in their cage in the corner of the room. (This summer includes taking care of their two guinea pigs – some of their other friends sometimes take care of them.)

That is the story. Short intermission while I take my meds.


Phew, there we go. It’s always difficult to keep your medicine schedule when you’re on holiday. Change in routine and all that. I always take my meds with breakfast, but I tend to forget when on holiday, because breakfast sometimes becomes one with lunch, or I get distracted by the dog, or have to feed the guinea pigs, etc. Thus, I’m trying to keep my meds close to my laptop, as I’ll obviously be on my laptop at some point. That’s my trick to remembering.

Did I say something about my latests posts being a bit all over the place? I think this one can be added to the list.

I’m having a really nice time, not counting the occasional migraines. (Even have a bit of a headache as I’m writing this, ugh). Nick was here for the weekend, and it was just perfect. I hated having to say goodbye to him Sunday afternoon, but he had to go back to work. I’m enjoying my time here, but am also looking forward to be home with him again.

My days basically look like this:

I take Zika for 3 walks every day. One in the morning, afternoon, and evening. I feed her and the guinea pigs. I watch YouTube, Netflix, play Minecraft, read… yes, I’m actually reading!!! 😀 I’ve just started chapter 9 of Michelle Obama’s Becoming. It’s good.

Yeah… that’s kinda it. It’s pretty wonderful. I might have a friend come visit tomorrow, though! If everything works out, she’ll be here from late afternoon tomorrow until Thursday evening. Fun!

I might go into town today and have a look in a charity shop that had some really nice things when I was here last summer. Otherwise nothing on the agenda!

It’s sooo good to get away from everything for a while. I definitely needed this.

 

Guess that’s all for this post. Thanks for reading and/or listening!

Leave a comment