This is not a drill

black-lives-matter-TO-Jalani-Morgan

Hello everyone.

I apologize for my absence. The world seems to be falling apart and it’s been hard to navigate. As most people, I’m still processing what’s happening. We are in a global crisis that will change all of our lives forever. The fact that there are so many places – especially the US – that has been denying its existence, have allowed covid-19 to run rampant.

This is not just about defeating the virus. That will take a very, very long time. The world was not prepared for this. The way we have constructed our society does not help with handling a global pandemic. I am so grateful of the way our government in Denmark has handled the situation, despite initial criticism internationally and pressure from the outside world. It couldn’t last forever, of course – economy would not allow it. I am 100% certain that had we had a right-wing government, our situation would have been very different – in a negative and devastating way.

I am scared for the future.

But that doesn’t mean good things aren’t happening in my life.

Everyone in my family is well and healthy.

My beautiful, perfect niece was born. And I’m her godmother.

I’ve recently started a 4-week internship, and I am loving it.

My relationship with Nick is as strong as ever.

I’ve been reading more books, all related to Black Lives Matter and novels written by Black authors. Currently reading “if they come in the morning” by Angela Davis et al.

I finally have an appointment with a rheumatologist in September.

I’ve been teaching Danish through video chat.

Most of my plants are doing very well.

Nick bought a Nintendo Switch. I can finally play Animal Crossing again!!!

I’ve now been stable for at least 16 months.

 

And I’m sure there is more I could add to the list. So I have reasons to get up in the morning, which is a big deal for me. Covid-19 and lock-down took that away from me. I’m so happy to finally have it back.

It is important for me to note, though, that the situation the world is facing is not a drill. It’s real, it’s happening, it’s killing us, and will continue to kill us and hurt us for a long time to come. I urge you all to take care of yourselves and others. Be kind, be understanding. Educate yourself on things that matter: the global pandemic, refugees losing the battle against covid-19, the horrifying civil war in Yemen, the Black Lives Matter + Trans Lives Matter + Black Trans Lives Matter-movements… And, speaking directly to americans: vote that son of a bitch out of office. Get him OUT. Get him out ASAP. He will continue to destroy your nation for as long as you let him.

 

My family is safe. I am so, so grateful for that. We are lucky. Millions of people are not. Millions are suffering. I refuse to ignore it. I don’t have money, I can’t travel and directly help those in need, I can’t go to the States and protest, I can’t vote Trump out, I can’t heal the sick. But I can read. Read and read and read, and show my support whenever and however I can. I can speak up and stand up for the people who need it. I can sign petitions. And I can write about it.

That’s all I have to say right now. Stay safe, take care, and just… care.

Leave a comment