It made me think

priyanka-arora-lNkfSVKlkDA-unsplash

I just read a post on Facebook that made me think. Which is always a nice treat.

The post was about how we’re all scared to just be ourselves. The woman who wrote the post mentions that someone had said to her, “it’s so wonderful that you’re sitting there without make-up, just being yourself!” Which, as she points out, is very problematic. Because, well, who would she be if she wasn’t herself? She’s aware that she could show us something else, show herself in a certain light, in a certain way. It’s easy these days – just scroll through Instagram and it’s right there.

According to her, we as a society are afraid of standing up for ourselves and showing the world who we truly are. It can be extremely hard – especially if your soul and/or body is convered in scars – and sharing your story is scary. But necessary.

It’s okay to be broken.

If no one knows how you’re feeling, if you don’t open up, no one can help you. Not  yourself or others.

“We are herd animals.
We copy each other.
Humans need humans.
So maybe we just need to show that we are all “just” regular people, and let it unite us.”


As you might have gathered, this made me think. Am I being true to who I am? I have a feeling that I’m not. Or am I? I’m not sure.

I am very open about my disorder, my flaws, my story. Does that mean I’m being true to who I am?

Although I’m not trying to be someone I’m not, I’m still not satisfied with who I am. But… that can be a good thing. It means that I know there is room for improvement, for change, and I’m trying to be better. Better at taking control of my own life. Better at trying new things and learning from my mistakes. And just, you know, being a better human. There’s always room for improvement in that category, no matter who you are. You can’t be too good of a human. By good I don’t mean bowing down and letting everyone walk all over you, always turning the other cheek or putting others first.

It’s about how you treat yourself, this Earth, and everyone else.

There are many things I can do (or practice doing) to become a better human being. And I really am making an effort, because it is important to me.

What is this post? I feel like I’m rambling.

I guess what I’m trying to say is this: trying to be someone you’re not is futile. Accepting who you are just as you are can be good, but also dangerous. Because blindly accepting you as you are will keep you stuck in your ways and prevent you from becoming the best human being you could possibly be.

Be you in all your strange and awkward glory. Know your qualities and your flaws. Work on them all. Be kind, be respectful, and be honest. And take good care of your body and mind – they will both be with you all your life. Might as well stay friends.

Did this end up completely cliché and cheesy? Yes. Yes it did. I didn’t mean for it to happen, I swear!

Have a great week everyone.

Leave a comment